Poets logo

Spend Another Dollar On You

by M.C. Dwarf

By Aaron RichmondPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Spend Another Dollar On You
Photo by Pawel Czerwinski on Unsplash

I’ve managed to catch Time by the strings

And find I can do all sorts of neat things;

If I save every day 'til the Boomers pass away

I’ll have a couple dollahs to spend on you

***

I know how to make the days last forever,

You love the way I make wishes come true.

I hoard my acorns like a treasure, and then

Again, I’ll have another dollar to spend on you.

***

But there never seems to be enough money,

To do the things you want to do when you want them.

I've looked around enough to know, that it isn’t work if I show

I’ve got another dollar to spend on you.

***

If I had a box just for wishes

I’d fill it with requests for your kisses.

The box would never be empty

Till it’s traded for the memory of how it felt to love upon you.

***

And yet there never seems to be enough me,

To go around and be all I know that I can be.

If there never comes another dime, at least I’ll have some time,

To spend another dollar with you.

Song Lyrics
1

About the Creator

Aaron Richmond

Words weave, worlds unfold,

Growth, knowledge, imagination,

Aaron's artistry flows.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    Sad but also sweet?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.