Poets logo

Speeding Cars

By Brianna Galligan

By Brianna Lynn GalliganPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am trying to escape my mind’s focusing energy

Which penetrates my strongest barriers

Against the feelings that rip

And tear at my fragile composition.

I stray from thought to thought,

Leaping out of orbit

Into a space no one has yet cared to venture.

I am stuck between reality and would and wouldn’t be’s;

And all the while, I find I am flustered.

My decisions and guesses claw their way

To the surface of my core.

They twist and interpret decisions

I try to pretend I don’t possess and haven’t made.

I reach but still I fall

Spiraling completely out of control.

The things I want and the things I expect

Conflict in similar interests.

Admitting only makes me more emotional

Which is the one thing I try not to be.

I bury the feeling that could promote chaos.

A chaos of the heart and the mind.

A chaos that could destroy my foundations.

Part of me screams leap !

The other remains frozen in its catatonic state

Unable to breathe,

Unable to move.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.