Poets logo

Speed Bump

Almost Forgot

By Kimberly J McGillPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

I cried the other day. Sometimes there are no words to say. An empty gray room received my tears. When I got the news, filled with fears. I had cancer.

Uncommon, much to young. Feeling the fat lady had sung. Not one clear answer, none could console. Learned some things I can’t control. I had cancer.

Chemo, drugs, surgery. Who would have thought sickness would strike me? My brown skin pale and looking ill, but it’s hard to stop someone’s will. I had cancer.

Lost my hair, found my joy. Believed I’d be here for my boys. Released my fears, welcomed new hope, ‘cause fear was too heavy a yoke. I had cancer.

Hair grew back, cancer died. Almost forgot I’d even cried. Stronger, red, more driven than ever. Thinking life is truly clever. I had cancer.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.