Poets logo

Spectrum

(Truth)

By Kendall Defoe Published 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
2

Black and blue, black and blue

Does not seem true.

Under brown skin

A white pain that

Finds itself in

Memory and

My innocence

Him in that darkness ajar,

So to test me as I sat

(edge of bed, all spread

With a pattern I forget;

I bet

It was all Star Wars

- Yodas and his set)

But his jump and scream,

Bigger than a bad dream

As I hung my head down

To wait

Now this is the grey part:

He would start

With all my weakness

(afraid of being afraid)

What he said

Was that I was a mess;

“your cousins would never…”

And then mumble and leave

(very clever)

And then, to grieve

Tears have no colour,

Pain was the monster

That clobbered

And caught my heart

(it was a fat black mass; it slobbered

Over what I did not start;

Could not understand)

All much harder than

His hands;

The thing I could stand

The black and blue

In the heart

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Painfully beautiful

  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Oh, this felt like being hurt…it was terrific

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.