Poets logo

Spectrum

A disjointed sum of all my pieces.

By Nneka CallwoodPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
Spectrum
Photo by James Hammond on Unsplash

Something has got to pop off, can't always be a knock off.

Sitting in my mama’s house, trying to get my rocks off.

Something has got to change; thoughts, to rearrange.

To colonize and civilize, the chaos in my brain.

Things aren’t black and white; gray is a color too.

The in-between is as prevalent as any other hue.

The timing is never right, the stars never align.

Can never seem to synchronize cycles with the divine,

but never mind...

Color me! I’m so excited, and ignited, and aflame.

You flick and flood, the blood comes quick, I want to hear you say my name.

Color me, your Copper Goddess. I’m being modest because I’m vain.

You can shower me in compliments, I’ve always loved the rain.

Color me! My unsung hero, my fallen sparrow; my nest is narrow, but there’s always room.

If you need to rest your wings, I’ll bathe your feet and oil your plume.

...color me?

You cover your skin, hide within, what you live in.

Out of sight, and out of mind. Out of touch, and out of time.

Told me once, that I’m not strong, said it like I don’t belong.

You’re only safe behind your walls. Build them up, and build them tall.

Close your mouth, abstain from sound.

Curtsy when they come around.

Untuck your shirt, brush your hair.

Is that what you’re going to wear?

Life is simple, soft and dear.

When you’re running from your fears.

Hadn’t thought of you in years.

Secrets seeping down my spine.

No more room inside my mind.

...am I running out of time?

Write yourself lion, you better right yourself.

Your pride is showing.

Your scowl is frozen.

I think you know this.

Are they mountains or boulders?

Right yourself, you better write yourself lion.

...despite yourself, we’ve got to cut the line...

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

Pink and yellow, orange and brown; up it comes and flush it down.

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

If it doesn’t add, up you must subtract. Your sum is greater when uncapped.

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

I dress my shame up, in a suit. Mother, may I spoil my fruit?

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

My diction is as long as ten feet tall. My gall they swing like cannon balls.

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

No, we will not wait to be seen!

excerpts
5

About the Creator

Nneka Callwood

Just a tree, planted by the rivers of waters.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.