Poets logo

Speaking With Paint

A fictional free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
3
Speaking With Paint
Photo by David Zieglgänsberger on Unsplash

Introduction

From someone who has lived with Autism for most of my life, I believe it’s crucial to understand that many people on the spectrum are capable of just as much as individuals who don't live with Autism. I don’t live with non-verbal Autism myself, but I’ve known people who’ve lived with non-verbal Autism and I was able to observe their strengths, weaknesses and the challenges that arise. As I’ve noticed each and every one of them closely, I tell myself that they are just like everyone and that living with the condition doesn’t make them less then. That’s why I decided to write this fictional poem. I want to elaborate on the fact that people with non-verbal Autism are an asset and not a threat to society.

For this poem, I created a character named Polly. Polly is a 16-year-old energetic, loving, creative and talented artist with non-verbal Autism. Her innovative, kind, non-judgmental, caring and humble father, Arthur is an artist and an art gallery operator. Her mother, Linda, is a stay-at-home mom who supports Polly’s dream to become an artist. Since Polly cannot use her actual voice to communicate her thoughts and feelings, she uses paint, canvases, painting paper and brushes to tell her life story. Her father was the first one to recognize her innate artistic abilities, and encouraged her to keep going. Her mom did the exact same thing.

This poem will be part of my future poetry series “The Girl Who Speaks By Making Art”, which I’m hoping to transform into a poetry book. This inspirational, teachable and heartwarming poem will hopefully educate people about Autism and the beauty of it. This may hit home for some people. Whether it hits home or not, I invite all people to give this fictional free verse poem a read!

The poem

Art gave me a voice;

an opportunity to speak

without using my words.

I tell my story

with colours, pictures and shapes;

illustrated journal entries I write.

Painting makes me rich

like a multi-millionaire.

I'm granted coins and bills,

love and support from my friends and family.

Painting soothes me

and keeps me sane.

By Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my free verse poems. If you enjoyed this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more of my Vocal publications, please subscribe to me and visit my public profile. Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal! Until next time!

IG Account: @tdwrites24 (my old account got hacked. I have a new account that's dedicated to poetry and writing)!

Facebook: Talia Devora

By Timon Klauser on Unsplash

PS: Please feel free to click on the link to view and/or purchase my first poetry book! Although this is not a fictional poetry book, it contains poems that discuss major themes like disability/mental health/autism awareness and fulfilling your dreams, just like in this poem.

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Bravo🥰

  • This was beautiful. I loved the story of Polly. Wish you all the best for this poetry book

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.