Poets logo

Speak to Me

When Silence Interrupts

By ROCK Published 4 days ago 2 min read
Speak to Me
Photo by Prince Akachi on Unsplash

Your eyes could stare a hole through the ground, speak to me, please? You've been sitting out here all night; I've seen you from my window.

silence

How can I help you if you don't tell me what's hurting you?

silence

Listening is what I do best, but if you want someone to sit with you and stare, I can do that, too.

Looks bashfully toward me

Can I ask your name? Mine is Julia.

cracks knuckles

It's getting cold out here in the rain; wanna come inside for some hot chocolate?

eyes widen, shrugs shoulders, head nods yes

Sit wherever you want; here's a towel to dry off a bit.

eyes following me as I make hot chocolate

Everybody here has a bed, food and my only rule is no drugs, no smoking and be kind. Can you agree to that?

nods head yes, takes hot chocolate, looks me in the eyes

So, do you have a name I can call you?

Mmm.

If you don't want to use your real name you don't have to. This is a safe house; doors lock at eight p.m. Nobody can hurt you here.

Alright

Okay "Alright" let's set up your bed and I'll show you your room; you have a room-mate; her name is Sam.

No.

No? No to what?

I don't wanna sleep with nobody I don't know.

Okay, then you can sleep on the sofa after we get you some dry clothes.

No.

No to what?

I don't want nobody's ole clothes.

Well, "Alright", if you wanna sleep on my sofa you can't be sopping wet.

Fine.

So you will put on dry clothes for me? I have lots of clean girls clothes, all sizes, even pyjamas if you want.

Alright.

Here you go then, do sweatpants, a tee-shirt and warm socks sound good to you "Alright"?

Minnie.

Minnie is your name?

nods

Minnie is much better than "Alright".

little laugh

Okay, you are all set up now. Want to talk after breakfast tomorrow? Doors are locked and don't open again until after breakfast. Feel safe?

shrugs shoulders, nods head

Minnie, do you feel afraid of anything now?

Closing my eyes; I want to keep them open.

You can keep them open then but you have to stay on the sofa unless you need to use the toilet; if you are scared, my room is off the kitchen; just knock. Sound good?

Mmm.

Goodnight, Minnie.

Wait!

Yes, Minnie?

Can I sleep with you?

You'd have to sleep on the floor as it's against policy for girls to sleep in the same bed with staff.

I never slept in a bed so I don't mind none.

Well, how about I sleep on the floor and you get my bed to try it out!

Alright.

social commentaryMental Health

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Novel Allen2 days ago

    I remember my Momma, she took in many a lost soul when I was growing up, so many passed in and out of our home. This brings back memories.

  • Kageno Hoshino3 days ago

    This feels so sad

  • John Cox3 days ago

    This feels real. A beautiful, sad dialogue. Filled with heart and love. Very well done!

  • This was so sad! I wish I could give Minnie a hug 🥺❤️

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    Sad but true somewhere right now.

  • That's sad but sweet at the same time.

  • Ameer Bibi4 days ago

    Like it Very simple and deep

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    This poignant and heart-wrenching .

  • Hannah Moore4 days ago

    Gently gently does it.

ROCK Written by ROCK

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.