Poets logo

Space Invasion

A Poem by Chasey Delaney

By Chasey DelaneyPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Space Invasion
Photo by Leslie Jones on Unsplash

Space Invasion

My inner world is basic

It's quiet now

No chatter no hindrance

No intrusive thoughts

Just ideas and a fizzing

Old thoughts receding

Rather too quickly

But an urge to create

A babbling creek of

Possibilities

My outer world amidst

of a consistent humming

Coming from my company

While he is contented

Distracted Then so am I

We are ships in the night

Both beacons of light

Always connected

By satellite

So when he is drunken

The last can been sunk

He switches to me

He's a vacuum of energy

That puts me on edge

Alluring me to an alertness

That my biological clock

Rewarding me, missed

It's that feeling of responsibility

You get when keeping a

Little kid alive and

Sort of entertained

The slow stress gently

Releasing into a build up

Of anxieties and just

Needing that time away

Back to yourself your

Inner peace and sanctuary

Recharge the source

When the real meat

of how he speaks

Is neither nourishing

Or sustainable

It boils down to nothing

it's a waste of my

increasing exhaustion

I'm wound up tightly like

A fucking pickled onion

I look forward to the

Time when he winds down

In the bedroom snacking

On cheap crisps called

(ironically) "Space Raiders"

For more poetry: chaseydelaney7 on Instagram

Also, why not sign up to receive occasional emails & everyday updates from me on my FREE newsletters:

chasey.substack.com / cdelaney.substack.com

sad poetry

About the Creator

Chasey Delaney

I am a relatively happy-go-miserable, female age 41 from Manchester, UK. I'm in a lifelong relationship triangle with my soulmate, myself and my schizophrenia. IG: chaseydelaney7. Sign up for a Free Email Newsletter: chaseyd.substack.com.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test8 months ago

    Chasey Delaney your poem is a powerful and evocative exploration of the complexities of human relationships. I

Chasey DelaneyWritten by Chasey Delaney

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.