Poets logo

South Kensington

An Ode to the London Underground

By Rachael HopePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
South Kensington
Photo by Zhipeng Ya on Unsplash

I walk, surrounded

by the sounds

of buskers,

the sight of husks

of people

sleeping bags cocooning bodies.

Sights, sounds, and feelings

send me reeling

with awe,

the shock of a flaw

in such a magical city

overflows my mind.

Voices pull me back, flush

with the rush

of normal people bustling,

by, accustomed to hustling

by and ignoring

“Homeless and Hungry — Please can you help?”

Imagine living

a life dependent on the giving

of strangers

facing the dangers

of heat, cold, and sickness

with only a blanket and cardboard sign.

Playing a flute

in a putrid

underground tunnel

people funneling

by with glassy, uncaring eyes

thinking ‘maybe if I had smaller change’.

I pause before art,

tiny wooden statues laid

art on dusty blankets,

and should I buy

a polished lion or butterfly

just to feel better?

I don’t meet his eyes.

And we walk

surrounded by din,

unease winding serpentine within

our minds,

I can’t seem to shake

this white noise as I take

step after step, wondering why

but never stopping to

wonder why.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rachael Hope

Polyamorous, loud laughing unapologetic feminist, rad fatty, and epic sweet tooth. I might overshare, but I'll also share my fries and shake with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.