Poets logo

Sound Waves

Echoes of Myself

By Po IveyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Sound Waves
Photo by Claus Grünstäudl on Unsplash

John Lennon said "Life is what happens to you when you are busy making other plans."

He died a long time ago.

Sound Waves don't last very long

Long enough for your ears to have a taste

Or suffer

Sound Waves travel as far as the walls permit; with added bonuses depending on where you are

Sound Waves don't last very long

Unless you're waiting for what

The black hole at the center of The Perseus Galaxy Cluster has to say

That's the loudest it gets; according to experts

Sit back and wait around

I make sounds on the regular

Turn the guitar amp to 11

Clean and distorted channels balanced

Get the perfect crunch

Foot pedal activated

Eleven songs and Spiteburner has finished our set

The last sound wave takes only a couple seconds

before the whole show is a thing of the past

Was it a beautiful time?

Did I set you free?

Will you find yourself humming a tune?

A solid $20 in my pocket

Thanks

My Morning Jacket slayed it last Friday

I'm still hearing it

Now I own part of the sounds

Catch it on the market for free

With added bonuses

My generation has the most preserved sounds

so far

You can't own sound (technically)

So slake your thirst on my waves

After all is said and done

After the big event

I hope I made you happy

Where is my place?

What have I done for you?

You decide

John Lennon said

"Expert, texpert choking smokers

Don't you think the joker laughs at you"

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Po Ivey

Po Ivey lives in Madison, WI, where he writes fiction in his free time. His inspiration includes Kurt Vonnegut, Philip K. Dick and William Gibson. He write's about the nuances that make the whole world a cast of actors. He also plays music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Nancy Kendrick2 years ago

    The microphone picture was insightful, sound vibrating technically but personally. Free verse requires respecting the writers experience, listening carefully for insight into what he wants us to know.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.