Poets logo

Sound Off!

When a Lion Speaks

By Nneka CallwoodPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2021
22

I’m going to sit with my quiet, and learn to accept it!

(I’m going to sit with my quiet, and learn to accept it!)

I will ignite my fire, and burn through temptation!

(I will ignite my fire and burn through temptation!)

My will is like iron, and no one shall shake me!

(My will is like iron, and no one shall shake me!)

I dare you to move me!

(I dare you to move me!)

I dare you to move me!

(I dare you to move me!)

I will remain standing!

(I will remain standing!)

I am firmly planted!

(I am firmly planted!)

By Johann Siemens on Unsplash

My fruit is always plentiful, and my roots reach back before time.

I uphold courage in the face of fear.

Mountains bend to my will, and oceans part where I intend to cross.

Adversity has never been bold enough, to present itself to me in a challenge that I could not overcome; in a foe that I could not defeat.

Do not be fooled by my calm demeanor.

Do not be fooled by the softness, in which I speak.

Should you show yourself to me as a weed in my garden; you shall be plucked.

Should you show yourself to me as clutter in my home, or in my head; you shall be discarded, eradicated, eliminated,

Dismissed!

In other words, remove yourself from my premises.

You will learn to hold your tongue, and remain silent; in the face of a lion.

By jean wimmerlin on Unsplash

slam poetry
22

About the Creator

Nneka Callwood

Just a tree, planted by the rivers of waters.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.