Poets logo

Soul Windows

A poem from the poetry book, "Kiss Me or Kill Me, But Please Set me Free!" By Amargeaux Rai; pg. 102

By Amargeaux RaiPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Soul Windows
Photo by Max-Jakob Beer on Unsplash

I want to look people in the eye.

Look for one second

We're Strangers.

Two seconds

We're Acquaintances.

Three seconds

We're friends.

Four seconds

We're close.

Five seconds

We're lovers.

Most people are afraid

To be more than strangers.

To them, it's offensive

To be more than acquaintances.

They live in a world

Where there are no friends,

Just people who know

How to get close just enough to,

For a little while,

Pretend to be lovers,

Conning other out of yet another piece of their heart.

They keep themselves on a shelf

Because they're afraid to show that they can cry.

Again.

I respect that.

I also know that I'm not one of those

Horrible people.

I want people to know that.

That, and that I'm not the only one.

Not the only one

To live

To Love

Not the only one

To get hurt

To get back up.

And I will

Never

Ever

Never

Ever

Never ever EVER

Turn around

And dish the evil

That was given to me.

My heart is stronger than that.

And if there's one like me, there's more.

I want people to know that.

And the best way to do that

Is through the courteous love

Of looking another in the eye.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

THANK YOU FOR STOPPING BY!!!

You can learn more on what this poetry book is about on my website:

AmargeauxRai.com/book

OR,

If this book has already swept you off of your feet, you can just buy it straight off of Amazon:

It's right here!!! Come and get it!!

You can also TAKE A LOOK at all the other creations I made on Vocal.Media!

You can also gaze over here for a sec:

Instagram.com/amargeaux_rai

Twitter.com/amargeaux_rai

AmargeauxRai.com/Artblog

Again, THANKS FOR READING!!

excerpts
Like

About the Creator

Amargeaux Rai

I am a freelance writer, blogger, poet and artist who studies Holistic medicine, palmistry, herbalism, and astrology. I also love interpreting dreams, eating chocolate and giving hugs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.