Poets logo

Soul Speak III

Written By: Rudy G.

By Rudy Avila GonzalezPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
"Nothing's New Under the Sun; but the Son on a New Day." - Rudy G.

Dear Loved One,

Self-preservation .

Create your

Boundaries ,

Don’t break’em .

Understand

The law of respect

Works two ways .

Self-respect

Shows character ;

It speaks volumes

To deaf ears .

I said something

… without moving my lips .

It takes action ,

So put into practice .

Self-preservation .

Unlearn

Bad habits

and behaviors ;

A different degree .

Embrace the change

That comes with

Overcoming

Affliction .

What’s growth

Without pain ?

Like what’s May

Without rainstorms ?

A tree

Is only

Dormant

In the winter .

And roots

sprout when they’re

Sprinkled with love .

Practicing

Gratitude

Is how to stay joyful .

Authentically

Giving thanks

To the Most High

For splitting

My hairs

To a new day .

I found me

A new way

To hold on

To Husain’s

Right shoe .

I’m not crazy .

I’m out of my mind .

Since escaping

The box .

Abnormal is

What normal isn’t .

A masterpiece

With peace

On my tongue .

I’m at Pisces

With the flow .

I tune

A different

Pattern

When I write

My notes .

School’s in session .

Self-preservation .

Keep your morals

And standards .

Don’t break’em .

Move humble .

Yet I walk

My fly

Perspective .

Overstanding

My worth .

I’d love me , too .

Marvelous

In more ways

Than one .

Spectacular .

I know

I’m quite

The spectacle .

And so are you .

God’s Child .

The sun beam

Compliments

Our complexion .

Simply stated .

He created us .

More than amazing .

With grace like a Dove .

Some

Cunning like

The tongue of

Anacondas

Cunnilingus .

I’ma spit it

Till they

Get it .

Self-preservation .

It’s more

Than making

A statement ;

It’s how we breathe .

It’s deep

Within us ,

A different breed .

Remised to say

A pedigree

That goes beyond

The atmospheric pressure .

Divinity

Is what I speak of .

Your words

Are powerful

Spread love

When you

Express

Your thoughts

And feelings .

Regardless

Of what’s

You’re feeling .

Even

Your crumby days

Can satisfy

Those with

Exquisite taste .

Serve up

The whole pie .

I know

They will

Enjoy

The entire

Plate .

And then some .

Holy Water

To wash it down ;

Vino .

Truly blessed .

We know .

Even when

Frustrated ,

I’m at my best .

Wringing out

Towelettes

Full of fears .

Collector of tears

Would never

Let me down .

Every word

I speak

Is confident ,

BLOOD .

Driving out

Doubt ,

BLOOD .

I’m here

To shake

The world up

BLOOD .

Thank You , Lord

For shedding Your

BLOOD .

So precious .

Self-preservation

Means nothing

When understanding

True dominion .

Fear of God

Is the beginning

Of all wisdom .

Bar-none .

I don’t have

A bottle

In hand

But I’m walking

With the Spirit .

So gifted .

I’ve gotta

Remind myself

To live

In the moment .

I don’t miss it .

Letting go of tradition

Is understanding

A blessing

Is given

To bless others .

So

I ask you ,

My beautiful people

What’s self-preservation ?

Sincerely,

A Concerned Brother

surreal poetryperformance poetryinspirationalhow toart
1

About the Creator

Rudy Avila Gonzalez

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.