Poets logo

Soul of Gold

Untarnished

By Gwendolyn PendraigPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Soul of Gold
Photo by Shane Simpson on Unsplash

I am a complex puzzle, a contrary piece, a shape that fits no hole

I am the centre cut of the jigsaw that viewed alone, makes no sense at all

A fragmented image, when viewed as a whole makes no pattern, but viewed in pieces forms my soul

Drips and drabs, colours in spaces they don't belong, lines and rivets and big beautiful blemishes contrasting and complimenting to make the glorious mixed up mess that is me, all me, nothing, but me

Base colours red and black, of darkness, of hurt and anger and corrosive rage

Should blend to make the darkest of souls

But still, mine shines brightest gold

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Gwendolyn Pendraig

I write. Feelings, mostly, though they often end up being horror based. I authored a book in 2017, Dancing In The Dust. You should check it out if you enjoy female fronted, post apocalyptic misery fests!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.