Poets logo

Soul Fortress

Built with my very own hands.

By Bonnie KnaptonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
2
Photo Captured by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash.

I have built a fortress,

with my very own hands.

To keep the dark from seeping into the paved cracks,

where the light peers through.

The darkness envelopes my body when the sun sets,

a vision of a warm touch,

of light in my forefront.

The sliver of colour I've clung to,

I've shown them this is my home,

falsifying my beliefs,

as I trod through years of time,

telling myself the luminescent glow,

is that which keeps me warm.

Awakening in the night of my soul, 

my eyesight starts to flicker through the cycles of my lifeblood

no where to go,

but to honour what arises

from the depths of the shadows

to open and allow, 

what hasn't been brought to the light, 

to consume me.

All that's been hidden here,

within my fortress

ignored by my fear ridden senses 

has weighed my body down,

immersed into one mould alone

shaping my dreams, 

dictating my waking state

but now I open my eyes, 

my body alive

to the season of sensation

the darkness no longer so opaque

I can see what lays beneath my feet

what arises above me

my fortress now transparent

at last, my senses aliven

I can see through the windows of my soul fortress

that I built with my very own hands

 ©️ Words by Bonnie Knapton

Thank you dearly for reading, I'm honoured by all that take a moment to read, share and commit with me, to coming back to our true essence.

httpsrooted://www.buymeacoffee.com/wildly

- Please show you're with me, by supporting how you can, and to find out more resources on embodying our wholeness. If you can support my healing work & the creation of a conscious, embodied community, through the price of a book, I would be so deeply honoured & full of gratitude.

---

You can find my conscious art Etsy shop here too, for raising funds for mindful healing of womb-en & children.

artinspirational
2

About the Creator

Bonnie Knapton

Channelling transformation of womb-enhood from maiden to mother, + the cyclical nature of our human-beingness. Holding space for remembering of the forgotten, and the raw embodiment of what it means to be a a primal, wild, being.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    Beautiful, full of fortitude and strength.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.