Poets logo

Sonnets from Brazilian Portuguese: M-16

Utilizing the rhyme scheme from “Sonnets from the Portuguese 7: The face of all the world is changed, I think” by Elizabeth Barret Browning

By WordSmithtressPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Sonnets from Brazilian Portuguese: M-16
Photo by Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

When the sky is bluest, I often think

of the summer I nearly lost my soul

but for a stranger who braved death and stole

me from midday crossfire. Pulled from the brink

of action, I sink against barroom sink.

We crouch in darkness, hearts beating and whole

no M16 hole bleeding out, we dole

out dark humor in empty space: no drink

or drinkers dare slake thirst while guns are near.

I cannot recall when we went away

from that place, if I left on my own. Here

is where memory fails, nothing is there,

did I even say thank you? Yesterday

I smelled beer and heat, remembered that dear

stranger whose name I never learned to say.

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

WordSmithtress

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.