Poets logo

Sonnet To A Side Porch In Summer

An Ode to My Grandmother's Side Porch

By Pamela JohnsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Sonnet To A Side Porch In Summer
Photo by Francesca Tosolini on Unsplash

Amidst the depth of sloping sweated heat

Mounted on this swaying moved vessel

Thoughts mere spinning silks drift on to repeat

Summer's radiance in every petal

The sun transcends this earthly darkened mound

The bird's chirping song of heavenly sounds

The wind's embraced kiss ne'er do mettle

Therefore, I ascend stairs of sweet repose

A bee hums near, Buzz, that little rebel

Art thou mad tokens of my mortal woes

Intrude quiet with close at hand peril

Arising from this vagrant jubilee

On open wings I flee to take back my poetry

nature poetry

About the Creator

Pamela Johnson

I am an amateur writer who loves expressing myself creatively through words when something brings inspiration to me. I love to read and explore all the creative arts. I enjoy hearing the expressions of others.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PJWritten by Pamela Johnson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.