Poets logo

Songs of Yourself

By Mona Yonus

By Mona YonusPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Songs of Yourself
Photo by Richard Sagredo on Unsplash

with a ringing solitude

I trace my steps across

the path of the past

without your love

I repeat thy name

Future, future, seldom said

I live along my thoughts

where I am silent in

the words of others

the moonlight in my eyes

singing only when gazing of

how soft the music of

silence makes me

the love of a blown dandelion

the hazy clouds with

dusty words

but now you are here

with your walk

reminiscent of a flaky fish

finding it’s way among a school of different colors

What if when I’m gone

you Want to fall into a ditch

And for time time to stop your tears from absorbing the trees of your kin above

hoping for a watchful eye to wake you up

to fall asleep under the waterfall foam

of my true desires

why must I fall into

the minute of the empty clock

Which blank message writes the

time of the ancient witch who was

Killed too soon

For collapsing the sandust on top

The realm of our false realities

The glades of our utopia

Where everything is perfect

Yet with you I can’t be in utopia

As I smother your powerful love

Under the crust of the earth

Where does utopia exist?

In the ant colonies where life goes in?

Is my perfect world in the fading dreams

Which shatter my sudden glass

Yet when will my perfect world exist in the

Dreamy sounds of the water and earth

When their hate will meet

Like the hollow eyes of

The jay which wakes to no vanishing river

And yet I gaze

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Mona Yonus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.