Poets logo

Songs of Sorrow

Slipping into Sadness

By Nicholas GoodmanPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Slowly slipping into sadness I sing songs of sorrow

tomorrow never looked so grim

i wish today wouldn’t stay

and before is a door I’m glad i got through

each moment is a component of this terrifying melody gripping me

and its tipping the scales of my mind

darkness prevails while i find less to relate to the light

hate dominates

anger appreciates

laziness pontificates

while fear delegates the whole negative choir

and i perspire trying to change the melody

steadily sailing i sink into seas of sorrow

i beg of you, let me borrow your love

my boat has lost its ability to float

and your care will help me prepare for the icy seas of dis ease that seize me

Tease me with simple nothings so my mind may focus on hocus pocus instead of the problem at hand

I can't stand this visceral separation

I can feel the congregation of empty space taking the place where my grace used to be

No more feelings of empathy as apathy consumes sympathy for the ones I love, no longer allowing me to rise above the waves

Turning expanse into caves with liminal room

A phenomenal womb of contraction

The nominal tomb where gloom becomes my doom

Waiting for the world to swallow and consume my everything

When death will bring the sweetest release

Peace

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas Goodman

Poet. Writer. Avid Tea enthusiast. Truth seeker. Love maker. Wondering what makes the world smile and how I can create that in words.

https://www.instagram.com/alloflovespoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.