Poets logo

Song of the Open Road

go

By Lily AlicePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
forever in your arms

I wish to write in blood

Of a time when I lived in freedom

A time when I painted to the heart beat of the earth

I am a free soul

Why do I only feel at home with those on the road

You’ve been on the road for quite some time

he told me down the phone line

we wondered if we should communicate with the aliens for a dime

I'm fed up pretending I’m fine

He wrote me poetry in the star lidded eve I met him

I wrote him songs as I lay awake, forever

Now I’m here, controlled

My existence, nothing more than a bird trapped caged

You know, they tried to preach to me, don’t forget your age

My soul is timeless, my soul is free

He told me, something in you won’t believe

in the real world, go back to why you were conceived, go home

To be a, queen.

Poetry just gets to the in-between

That which can’t be written or seen

There are ghosts trapped in my childhood scenes

The nun stood there with a light

The god calls all the time

Some say I’m still ridding the wings of my catholic upbringing

I say have you ever seen the gods reclining

All I use to want for parties and dresses

Well that little girl grew up from those soft caresses

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lily Alice

Visual and Audio artist based in London

Wild heart

Free soul

Dancing through life where ever flowers grow let there be inner peace and fulfillment <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.