Poets logo

Son of the Morning

The Fall of Phaeton

By Emily Marie ConcannonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
7
Son of the Morning
Photo by Nic Y-C on Unsplash

Let me ride your chariot,

So I can heal the world of hurt,

Let me sail it in the skies,

So people love before they die.

By ANIRUDH on Unsplash

Helios of the sun's bright orb,

Gave me the reins, to the sky I'm lured.

His brilliant steeds of brazen brass,

Called out to me that this can't last.

But to the skies is where I want to be,

To shed light on earth so they may see,

Phaeton is my name of olden songs,

But all they know is what I've done wrong.

By Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

"Son," you called from across the Earth,

"Come back to me, the one I've birthed."

Helios pleaded as I zipped on by,

Not heading his calls or pitiful cries.

"No, my father, I'm almost there,"

I called out as he fell to despair.

"Once I reach the arch of heaven,

They'll know I'm the light bringer, Phaeton."

This was not to be, I must lament.

For the steeds disobeyed and began their descent.

I fell to the Earth with a thunderous crash

And sent the Earth up in flames with a single flash!

By M. B. Louis on Unsplash

My father cried as my spirit departed

I watched in horror at the disaster I'd started.

Humans cried, pleading, "have mercy!"

But naught could the gods do, for I am unworthy.

***********************************************************************

Phaeton was the son of Helios and a sea nymph. He was unaware of his ancestry until his mother told him the truth.

When Phaeton asked his father to grant him one wish, his father agreed that he would give Phaeton whatever he asked. Phaeton asked his father to let him ride his chariot. In horror, his father consented, unable to break his promise.

Phaeton was said to fall to the Earth, unable to hold the reins of the fiery, bronze steeds. Some astronomers have compared this imagery to the fall of a meteorite to Earth, which occasionally cause fires. This has led some experts to believe Phaeton’s legend is actually a record of a large meteorite that might have hit Greece centuries ago.

I hope you enjoyed it! Thank you so much!! :) :)

artnature poetry
7

About the Creator

Emily Marie Concannon

I am a world nomad with a passion for vegan food, history, coffee, and equality.

You can find my first novel on Kindle Vella here: https://www.amazon.com/kindle-vella/story/B09V4S7T4N :) I appreciate all your support and engagement! :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Bravo! I loved the story aspect of this one and of course enjoyed your wonderful background info at the end. Well done!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! 💕💖😊

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Wonderful and very interesting. Well done.

  • I'm a sucker for Greek mythology and I also loved this poem and the backstory!

  • This is a wonderful meld of mythology and space travel two of my favourite subjects at primary school which are still with me today. Also, some gorgeous images as well make this a beautiful word journey.

  • I love this 🖤 Greek mythology is such a rich source of inspiration.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.