Poets logo

Somewhere Over The Pain, Go I

Bridging the gulf between the dream and reality

By HB BarochePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2

Somewhere over the pain

Go I

With care over red stains


Go I


Dared to break these grey chains


Did I ?

Prepared to ache for new gains


Was I ?

Scared under the shadow of black rains
?

Not I


Red hair on a head full of coming up ahead trains


I sigh


Truth or dare in manilla yellow exchange


I try


Ruth or Ava in the big orange book of names
?

I’m high
!

Youth in prayer for a rush of pink through my veins


I fly


Oh for the rarefied taste of change

I’d die


Ready to share all the colours in my range


Am I


Steady in stare with my hazel strange


Lazy eye


Forever a pair of imperfect mermaids


I cry


For the little boy blue, where through his pain


Was I
?

Standing in a white body paired with the wrong brain


We tried


To give a fair chance to the brown case to remain


I’d die


If I breathed this mauve air still and spoke my name


I’d lie


In the purple glare of a life of pain


Not I


Somewhere over the pain


Go I
!

Riding a horse in the fair across an open plain


Where I


Have no division in there, inside that human frame


It’s mine
!

That I love to wear now the old colours have been drained


And I


Am standing here before you, and brighter yet the same 


Am I

And I

Am standing here before you, and brighter yet the same

Am I

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

HB Baroche

I’m a musician, writer, voiceover artist, impressionist, trying to do the best impression of a functioning human being I can.

“I’d rather be a hypocrite than the same person forever”

- Adam Horowitz, AKA Ad-Rock

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.