Poets logo

Somewhere Down The Line

My Passion Disappeared

By Paul DouglasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
10
Somewhere Down The Line
Photo by Tudor Adrian on Unsplash

Walking down the country lane

Memories of you

Permeate my tired brain

As I push on through

***

The trees rustle overhead

Their canopies entwine

As our love once did

Somewhere down the line

***

Finally upon the pier

You slide into view

Smiling when you see me

And I smile right back at you…

***

…But inside I’m dying

***

You give me your everything

Without thought or questioning

You love me unconditionally

And I think that is the worst thing…

***

…I’m crying inside

***

We have been together for so long

Our love all-encompassing

Burning fierce and strong

But all things must change…

***

…At least for me

***

You run to me and hug me

And I hug you tight right back

You say you love me so damn much

And I say it to you right back…

***

…But I lie

***

At least in the way I love you

***

I love you like a sibling

Or a best friend I hold dear

But somewhere down the line

My passion disappeared

***

I tell myself I can’t tell you

For fear of hurting you

I don’t want to be the bad guy…

***

…And I hope you break up with me

_________________________

Thank you for taking the time to read my work.

If you enjoyed my piece, please consider clicking the little heart beside my name. Tips aren't necessary but would be most welcome.

If you are interested in reading more of my work, please click on my picture below.

heartbreak
10

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.