Poets logo

Sometimes colors write your story.

A message for everyone.

By Arvin KhehraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6

I was born in the society where skin colors write your story,

Being white means you are special but being black means you need to worry.

I am privileged to be born white they say. I just have a message for all of them to convey.

You told me to stay away as if they could hurt me with their melanin,

You told me to keep a safe distance as if they could infect me with their dark skin.

I don’t think I will ever understand your parameters as they have got no logic,

Do they eat anything different from us or they were born in some different way?

Colors are not what separates us, your thinking is what is more catastrophic.

They have got the same body whom they want to defend,

Black lives matter was there for a reason, not for you to apprehend.

I fell in love with their cocoa skin as sunlight reflects through their skin,

I envy their perfect curly hair as I can’t even get them after putting so many chemicals in.

They’ve got the perfect bodies not for you to look neither they are on display,

They are not born for you to cook with your filthy words, as they are not here to be your buffet.

I see every color in them, regardless of what the society say,

Being black, white or brown never determines anyone's destiny anyway.

social commentary
6

About the Creator

Arvin Khehra

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.