Poets logo

Sometimes

I think about the sky.

By Michelle PPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Sometimes I think about sky,

turning over shades of gray like the the pages

in a pamphlet on coping with loss.

I said I was sensitive,

And you just told me to live,

A life away from life,

A life away from thinking feeling experiencing

And when the blue skies blew them away in the wind

I was left to chasing after her in the pouring rain.

But how do I catch sunlight in my fingers

Or the laughter that rings in my ears

In a ghostly echo of times past...

Sometimes I think about cars,

Passing by in a flourish like dark figures in a funeral procession.

I said it was sad,

And you told me to be glad.

That it wasn’t me.

And I didn’t have the energy to tell you,

That I could be next.

I could be last.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Michelle P

I love to write poetry as well as anything that comes to mind. I hope you enjoy reading my things as much as I do writing them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.