Poets logo

Something Rare

A poem by Mark

By Mark WheatleyPublished about a year ago 2 min read
1
Something Rare
Photo by Samsung Memory on Unsplash

I asked my best friend to come over last weekend

A boys night for gaming, away from the girlfriends

*

We filled up a cooler with plenty of brewskis

And grabbed a big platter of hot wings with blue cheese

*

With sheer titillation I turned on the Xbox

Picked COD Modern Warfare, and loaded up spec ops

*

The next several hours are admittedly blurred

As we sat on the couch not saying a word

*

The only lights there came from guns and grenades

And slivers of moonlight that peaked through the shades

*

Thoughts came to me scarcely like blown tumbleweeds

But one begged to be free so I had to concede

*

“What’s the rarest thing? The thing that’s most rare”

Like a ghost in the room my thought hung in the air

*

Though my friend did not show it I knew he was thinking

Racking his brain while he stared on unblinking

*

“Maybe a comet” he gave it a try

“When’s the last time you saw that in the sky?”

*

“Well comets are rare for us here on Earth,

But there’s surely no shortage in this universe”

*

“A solar eclipse? A volcano blast?”

I said “those both happened the year before last”

*

A new silence stretched as we thought a bit harder

I’m sure that those beers weren’t making us smarter

*

“I’ve got it!” he yelled as he jumped up with glee

“The rarest thing just came to me suddenly”

*

“It’s not in the ocean or skies up above,

The rarest thing ever is simply true love”

*

His thought was put out there and left to ferment

Well that certainly was a nice sentiment

*

But I told him “I’m sorry, I must disagree

Cuz true love is actually common you see

*

If we went to my neighbours’ we might find it there

Shoot, it’s February, it’ll be in the air!

*

No true love’s not special but you know what just might be?

A friendship like ours, and I don’t say that lightly

*

We’ve been through it all from JK to college

I think that’s real special and should be acknowledged”

*

And suddenly it hit me like a shot at the buzzer

Just how long had we been staring at one another?

*

And then more than that, how had I never seen

The shade of his eyes was the purest of green

*

What feeling was this? Was it wonder or fear?

Or maybe a fever from all of that beer?

*

The next thing I knew we were inches apart

I looked at his lips and they started to part

*

A comet, volcano, a huge solar flare

I don’t know what happened but I know it was rare

*

Such a pure perfect moment without judging or shaming

Then he whispered “no homo” and we went back to gaming

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Mark Wheatley

Hi I’m Mark. I like sandwiches and sandwich-like foods

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.