Poets logo

Something in the Water

Sensational Challenge

By N.J. KarpPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Something in the Water
Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

My favourite place in the world to be is by the water.

The salt air of the ocean is a dream I rarely have the opportunity to visit.

If I close my eyes and concentrate, I can still recall the waves running over my shoulders in its rhythmic way.

I find peace and calm here, with my toes buried in the fine sand, on a beach that stretches for miles.

Embracing a lone visitor, no way forward, and no cute cottage town behind.

If I close my eyes and concentrate, I can taste the salt that lingers on the rocks by which the waves crash. I can sit with my face to the wind as it hits the rocky shoreline over and over again.

When I open my eyes, the meditation is over and I am faced with a far more vast ocean that is this reality.

There is no beach, just wide open waters and me.

The waves come like giants, relentless in their approach.

The loud cries of the native gulls promise to shatter my resolve as their call pierces my ears. Covering them only summons their persistence.

My eyes water from fear, panic, and anger. All work against me as I swim to escape the murderous waters.

I could be better, I could be stronger, I must be smarter. I think as the ocean surrounds me and threatens to drag me deep into its depths.

I am not a strong swimmer, and my body aches from fighting the storms. The saltwater pours into my mouth as a struggle to catch my breath.

I am faced with two choices. To succumb to the violence, the fear, and the aching of my heart. Or fight.

I fight through each wave, for my four children who need me and look for my strength every day.

I fight for my love, who believes I can do anything and never doubts my strength.

I fight for the hope of one day reaching the shoreline and digging my toes in the warm sands once more.

To meditate. To reflect on the storms overcome.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

N.J. Karp

I write to explore. I write for pleasure. I write for the love of it. I am happy to share stories, poetry, and thoughts with other readers. I am working on publishing children's stories but I love to read mystery, romance, and fantasy.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Please. Please invite me there next time. This poem should be titled, Almost Paradise 🥰 beautiful poem.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    N.J. this was a beautiful piece! I love that you were able to take the reader to a happy place with you by way of your use of descriptive language that played on the senses of the reader. This was so well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.