Poets logo

Some Comfort through Stress

Slow down to relax

By Sarah DanaherPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Some Comfort through Stress
Photo by Ian Stauffer on Unsplash

When I feel all stressed out

I go inside my brain

To think of things that keep me calm

And scare the stress away

I miss all the sunsets

In all places, I have seen

Each set of colors amazes me

The feel of kayaking

Through the water splashing by

My life calms down every time

Walking along a wooded trail

Through leaf-filled hollows

Thinking about how high

One can fly from the sorrow

Watching the waves coming in

And the subtle sound they make

Erases the stresses of the day

Seeing the birds fly so free

As nothing can stop them from their dreams

Lost in a book in my head

It gives me a break from life’s long grind

To find a world, I can hide

Figuring a puzzle to a solution

Let’s my mind rest

From all the overwhelming stress

With a sense of accomplishment

Just sitting down

Just letting the mind clear

Of all the annoyance of everyday life here

Riding in an airplane

Looking at the clouds

Effortlessly float around

Playing on a soccer field

Running like the wind

The pounding of the heart

The feel of grass and the ball underneath my feet

Oh, how sweet the game

If only we could relax

And not be so busy as a matter of fact

To let us see a slower life

To gain relief in a world of chaos

To feel like life is not just sad

To be able to live fully and calm in the end

If we just understood how to experience the comforts of life

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.