Poets logo

Soliloquy #3

The Bitter Man

By BigPhazePublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

To dwell in the present has unleashed a torrent of my haunting past, eclipsing any semblance of a future.

The pursuit of hedonistic pleasures and transient joys has ensnared me in a desolate abyss.

"Go big or go home," they said, and I chose to go big, only to find myself utterly homeless.

Destitute, I cannot afford the shelter of a meager hotel room. Shame is my sole possession, a currency that buys nothing but despair and the weight of a noose around my neck.

Perhaps I will stumble upon a dilapidated alley to rest my weary head, if only for a fleeting night.

I am a morally ambiguous figure, surpassing even Loki, the trickster of Asgard.

My existence has been a relentless quest for validation and instant gratification, leaving me consumed by woeful emptiness.

Nihilism has beckoned me towards the precipice of self-annihilation.

Maybe in another life, I could have offered more, but even then, I yearn for non-existence.

The notion of living only once has driven me to this desolate juncture. I pray it holds true, for I wish not to endure this wretched existence again.

Listen, for this is the tale of a sorrowful, vindictive soul devoid of mercy.

Follow the darkened path; you may stumble upon my lifeless form. Perhaps you will see past my physical deformities and bestow upon me the mercy of a proper burial.

Or perhaps my misfortune is contagious, and you shall flee from the rotund vessel of lies that I am.

Mayhap you shall glean wisdom from the chronicles of my wretched existence.

artsad poetryperformance poetrynature poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

BigPhaze

I am a Social Scientist, specifically a student of Political Science. I attend Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria. Writing is a tool of exploration for me. I hope you'll stick around for my journey into uncharted territories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.