Poets logo

Soldier On

Failure is not an option.

By Stephanie LiftonPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

That precious red, white and blue still waves,

with the dying breath of the fallen

of which their family will forever crave.

They signed that 'blank check'

sacrificing their lives

to keep America forever free,

"And I will continue to do so." They said,

"As long as breath is still within me."

Do you think that because you have the right

to do something means that you should?

It's as if you spit on the people that vowed protected you -

in every possible way that you could.

Are you are under the impression that

you would slip through the seams?

Yeah, let's see how tough you are

with disrespecting the flag

standing in a pack of the United States Marines.

You obviously don't know these people

so allow me to introduce,

the very people that put their lives on the line

so you have to right to say such abuse.

"I am a Navy Seal and you have no idea

the extensive training that I had to go through,

to make it to where I am - a being anew.

I almost drowned tying a knot underwater

and after I was revived,

my first question to my instructor was "Did I pass?"

even though I should have been lucky that I was alive.

He told me that I passed because I learned to rise,

that I pushed past my comfort zone

in spite of staring in death's eyes.

A Marine laughed at me and said with a smile,

"Go play in a puddle

and let the grown ups talk for a while."

It enraged me but as hard as I could hit him

I had come to find,

that after quickly deciphering his laughter

that these damn Jarhead's

are out of their ever loving mind."

"I am the nameless, female soldier

with that earned patch which

makes me a United States Marine,

proudly wearing my digitals

and laughing with my middle finger held high

when the whole world has the balls to try and demean.

I think that it's cute when the Army says

'Quick, rush and a hurry',

because I say whatever the hell I want

and am already there stealing some man's curry.

The sound of gunshots used to make me rattle,

but here I stand with

my sand boots laced for battle.

Shouldering the rifle that is the extent of me,

gone was the scared civilian

and here stands the machine

that they built me to be."

"I am the Army Dog and really the only difference

between me and a Devil dog is the distance we shoot,

still we protect and defend - this is absolute.

I stand beside that soldier

that shoots and eats that MRE at the same time,

and all I can do is nod at the Marines' patch

like everything is fine.

I wait for the enemy to get a bit closer and

then it's worth to shoot,

but I still cringe at the fact that I wanted this one

awesome looking patch...

when no one me that to get it

I had to jump out of a plane via parachute."

"I am that Air Force pilot that takes to the skies,

curving artfully in the sleek plane

to help defend the United States with my Allies.

This is the job for people that are

calmer when they are up high,

moving at dangerous speeds

and blurring as they fly by."

"No matter who I am - where by land, sky or sea,

I will defend you when you sleep at night

and you can count on me.

I am out here putting my life on the line for you -

my family, friends and the millions I don't even know,

for I stand for your dream of tomorrow

in which you should never let go."

"Soldier on everyone no matter what may come your way,

we've got you covered and away from all of this fray."

So the next time you think

about disrespecting the flag

I ask that you think of them,

for you may think your badass

but they are the ones that run towards

gunfire and mayhem.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Lifton

Hi! You will soon find different varieties here. I am a writer and a poet, though I am still passing some stepping stones with this. I get wrapped up in the poem sometimes and it may turn out long in the end, so I apologize in advance. :3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.