Poets logo

Soft

A free verse poem

By Sara MortonPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Soft
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Just Once,

I wanna be less loving,

Less forgiving,

Less understanding.

I wanna be able to let go,

Keep a grudge,

Hold someone accountable,

Say no.

I’m tired of holding onto everyone so tightly,

Of forgiving them after a one time thing,

Turned broken second chance,

Turned abuse.

I’m a doormat,

A clinger,

An apologist

An easy target.

I need to learn to be cruel,

To reciprocate the hate,

Not feel guilty,

Become inconsiderate.

I can’t help being nice,

But it gets me taken advantage of.

Even if I try to retaliate

Then I’m the bad one, so I don’t.

Why was I made so soft

In a world filled with cruelty?

Why can’t I learn my lesson

And just let it harden me?

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sara Morton

I'm a huge movie nerd who thinks they're always right when it comes to films. I also work in a library so I'm not afraid to shush you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.