Poets logo

Socially Starved

A free verse poem about the long term effects COVID outbreaks had on my mental, and social wellbeing

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
4
Socially Starved
Photo by charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

My psyche

was grumbling

incessantly.

I’ve been

hungry and socially starved

for several weeks.

Like a confined dog,

I’d bark and bark,

until I was stuffed

from loads of attention.

My bones, toys, blanket,

and kibble wasn’t enough

to fill me up.

It felt fantastic

to finally

unlock my dog cage.

I was free

to feed my famished soul

with all my favourite people.

Some days,

I incessantly barked,

because I was

still socially starving

and couldn’t

curb my cravings.

Some days,

I stayed put

in my homey dog cage,

and cozied up

with my toys, kibble, bone,

and blanket.

I wasn’t a wild animal,

I was just

a socially starved dog

who was kept

in her cage

for too long.

By Shane Guymon on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poetry, recipes, stories, and much more!

Please feel free to keep in touch with me!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By Jared Erondu on Unsplash

performance poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry
4

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    So sorry your Covid experience was really tough! Excellent poem!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    What a great metaphor, and so true. Have everything we need at home, but just want to get out of the cage. Well done.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Splendid performance poem!!! Left some love!!!💕😊💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.