Poets logo

So Scared to Let You Close...

A Poem of My Fear

By KCPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Tears run down my face when that locked door is knocked on,

Floods of pain rush back and punch my heart like a thunderbolt to my chest,

This anguish and deep sorrow is buried so far underground that flowers have started to bloom on top of the grave,

My wounds cut deep and my scars are hidden under my smiles and laughter,

I long for that loving touch that fills me with comfort enough to tell you what I hide inside,

I have grown strong and tall all alone,

I have driven away the demons with the one strong fist I hold in my hand,

My conquests have been fought with a single sword that has swiped at the battles thrown at me,

My fears are limited, I show no fear in times of caution and I laugh at the dangers of the external world,

Past wars have created a fearless warrior,

Previous turmoils have soldered my gaze of strength,

Long gone triumphs forge the reactions I display today,

Through this sadly, my goal with any relationship is keep them at a distance,

The fire of pain for me shines too bright which surrounds me and pushes you away,

The greatest fear that I feel is that of closeness,

My immense despair is that you will get close enough to open that locked door and see beneath my mask

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

KC

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.