Poets logo

Snow Day

A night is only as good as its day

By Seth ConleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Snow Day
Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

It's always in winter, when days are their coldest,

When I venture outside feeling my boldest.

I lace up my boots and fetch my good mittens,

And put on the sweater, the one with the kittens.

All my friends are outside, they're all calling my name,

Hoping I'll come out and join in the game.

A fresh field of snow, sparkling in the sun,

But it won't look so good after we're done.

We make snow angles and snowmen, kids were building an igloo,

While the older kids got to work, hoping to have some fun too.

The snowballs start flying, we all run for cover,

Everyone grabs some snow and aims for each other.

But the fun eventually ends, as everyone knows,

When your gloves are soaked, and you can't feel your toes.

I walk through the door, suddenly hit with the heat,

I discard my sweater, peel wet socks from my feet.

I lay wrapped on the couch, in a blanket fresh from the dryer,

As mom brings me some soup and starts up the fire.

Everyone loves a snow day, a day ful of laughter,

But I'm more interested in all that comes after.

A warm cup of coco after a long day of play,

A nap on the couch is pretty good I say.

But as I look out the window, watching snow fall,

I can only hope your snow day is the most comfortable of them all.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.