Poets logo

Snatched Away

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Snatched Away
Photo by Stefan Fluck on Unsplash

Having something or someone stolen from you is one of the worst things a person has to experience. You don’t have to only have an object such as a designer purse you’ve been owning for years or a stuffed toy you refuse to relinquish, you can have anything stolen from you: your intelligence, your lover, your child, etc. Being a victim of theft and loss is just as painful as having a rock thrown at you.

I’ve experienced all kinds of theft: phone, wallet, iPad, intelligence, friends, etc. These were not just emotional things for me to deal with, but also frightening things for me to encounter.

I invite y’all to read this poem about my theories on “psychological theft”. If you’ve had similar or the same experiences as myself, this should hit home!

Telling me to “shut up”

is like stealing my voice from me.

I need my voice

as a cure for weakness.

Fibbing and fooling me

is like taking away my intelligence.

I can’t afford to have

my smartness stolen from me.

Being ableist towards me

is like having my self-worth

snatched from me.

I need to be worthy of myself

to prevent myself

from emotionally dying.

Forcing me to do activities

I’m not confident doing

is like kidnapping me

from my comfort zone.

My turtle shell

cannot be snatched away from me,

because I need it

to keep me warm and guarded.

By Leo Rivas on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give this poem a ❤️, share this poem with others, comment and send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal. For more of my mental health poems, feel free to also check out my book by clicking on the link below! Your love will mean the world to me!

IG Profile: @tdwrites24

Facebook: Talia Devora

heartbreak
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Beautiful! This totally hit home. Especially forcing to do things we're not comfortable with. Loved the turtle shell metaphor for comfort zone. Brilliant!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.