Poets logo

Snapshot of Earth

A Frame of Reference

By Obsidian WordsPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
5
Snapshot of Earth
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I can see the twisted metal

My eyes water from the light

The impact from your landing

Gave the locals quite a fright

I’d check inside to find you

Some stranger in the night

I’d release you from the wreckage

And check if you’re alright

This place to you is alien

I’d guess the air tastes wrong

I’d ask about your journey

I’m guessing it was long

My door, for you would open

I’d usher you inside

I ask about your plans here

And hope that you’d confide

Our languages are different

That much was plain to know

But words are just a barrier

For the things I’d rather show

I’d introduce my cats first

We would take it nice and slow

We’d wait until they curled up tight

To knead the blankets like they’re dough

Next I’d make hot chocolate

A flavour divine and rare

As you sip around the marshmallows

I’d find you something to wear

Sweatpants and a simple tee

With a slogan on the back

We would watch a documentary

And I’d whip you up a snack

You’d watch the show and I’d watch you

To see how you react

And wonder how many Earthly things

The place you came from lacked

In the morning we’d get coffee

From the little place down the street

Then I’d take you to the city

To some friends who’d want to meet

Maybe we go shopping

And probably to the zoo

Though all the while I'm wondering

If anything is familiar to you

I would take you to a library

Then on to a theme park

We’d head out to the beach

And wait till it got dark

From there we’d see the stars come out

And I’d point up to the sky

I’d look at you and hope you knew

That I wanted to know why

I’d hope that you might answer

Or that I’d come to know your name

That you’d point to some distance star

Declare that from whence you came

But even if you didn’t

I’d show you this world from my frame

And pray that one day in the future

You do for me the very same

inspirational
5

About the Creator

Obsidian Words

Fathomless is the mind full of stories.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Ian Read9 months ago

    Thoughtful and wonderous. This is outstanding!

  • Mohammed Darasi9 months ago

    Maybe if aliens experience this kind of day when they come to earth in movies, no one would die 😅. Great poem 😊👏🏽

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.