Poets logo

Snapping Beans

An afternoon in my Vavô's kitchen, age 6. One of my favorite snacks.

By Ashley LimaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
27
Snapping Beans
Photo by Bob Bowie on Unsplash

I mostly pretend to like the chore at hand,

But I can't pretend that the juices aren't irritating the hangnail on my thumb.

At least The Price is Right is on in the background.

I like to watch the spin of the wheel,

Though you likely prefer watching the contestants win.

I welcome the sun bursting in through sheer white curtains

As the smell of Vavó's biscuits wafts through the kitchen.

While our unshared language causes a barrier between us,

The simple pleasure of unspoken stories rings true.

Interacting through the fruits of our shared labor,

We spend time in the company of our ancestors,

Snapping beans as the open windows offer us respite in the form of a summer breeze.

Separated by a sea between the old life and the new,

United by an action; simple and sincere.

____________________________

Vavó = Portuguese for grandmother.

Vavó's biscuits = I don't know how to describe it other than a mix between a cookie and a biscuit, they're wonderful. Recipe here.

Free VerseFamily
27

About the Creator

Ashley Lima

I think about writing more than I write, but call myself a writer as opposed to a thinker.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 27 days ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • This is lovely

  • Christy Munson30 days ago

    My father's parents were vegetable farmers. Your lovely story reminded me of my childhood hours spent snapping butter beans on the farm house steps, watching ears of corn not popping in the baking heat. Thank you for the memories!

  • Congratulations on sharing such a wonderful writing!

  • Harun rashid30 days ago

    Very nicely done. thank you so much.

  • Blake Booth30 days ago

    I don't know how to describe it other than 'delightful.' Great work, it stirred so many wonderful emotions in so short a space. Just wonderful.

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    I love veggies - all of them (well not so much eggplant) and snapping the beans and eating raw, or sauteeing with garlic and salt...yummy. Loved your poem, congrats on TS. Great memories.

  • Ameer Bibiabout a month ago

    I also love these beans in all types of curry and snacks. congrats

  • Cathy holmesabout a month ago

    Very nicely done. I felt like I was right there in the kitchen. Congrats on the TS.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    We used to snap beans as mom watch the young and the restless. Nice memory. Thank you - Congrats on your top story

  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    Wow. You completely immersed me in Vavô's kitchen and I loved every second of it. Calming, sincere, happy and homey. And the line "we are in the company of our ancestors" was like the cherry on top for me. Wonderful writing!

  • Caroline Janeabout a month ago

    This is delicate and elegant and gorgeously nostalgic. Beautifully done.

  • Really nice poem and I've been there. Excellent challenge entry

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Beautiful!! What a heartwarming throwback to your past!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    This took me right back to snapping beans with my mom while her soap opera was on. Beautiful poem! You captured a very sweet moment. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Mark Gagnonabout a month ago

    It's always nice to reminisce about the things that made you smile as a kid.

  • Sid Aaron Hirjiabout a month ago

    Man I love snap peas

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Heartwarming & loved it!!!💕❤️❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.