Poets logo

Snake Skin

Part 1

By Jai StormPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I have watched the splinters of wood fade in the sun before me,

The leaves on the trees turn to brown and fall from their branches,

I have felt the winter wind blow in across this field,

I have traveled long in this valley.

I seek shelter from my misery,

I seek hope from my past,

Here I stand in a debacle,

Needing you, at long last.

Do not let me slink away,

Like a snake upon the hot desert sand seeking shade,

Do not let me fall,

Like a tree mercilessly cut from its home,

Do not abandon me,

You, are my only hope.

Pull me out of this slumber,

Wake me from this dream,

I never thought this day would come,

Temptation all around me.

I see your face,

Rescue me,

Lest I slip into her claws,

This snake that sneaks in and draws me near,

This I have acknowledged,

This I fear.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jai Storm

An avid writer who utilizes real life experiences and places them delicately onto paper for others to live vicariously through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.