Poets logo

Smooth is a Bad Day

A poem

By Emma Kate ColemanPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
6
Smooth is a Bad Day
Photo by Quin Stevenson on Unsplash

Smooth is a bad day.

Yeah, smooth sounds cute.

But honestly? She's a nightmare.

-

Smooth is that pale light slipping through Wal-Mart curtains.

And my finger on the bubbling screen protector of my phone.

The slide of my eyes over bright white video.

-

Smooth is the warm red river seeping into cotton and lace.

And cramps curling into the dimples on my back.

The slick in my greasy ponytail hair.

-

Smooth is the cool side of my other six Big Lots pillows.

And my tongue peeling over chapped lips that haven't spoken.

The gulp of Zoloft through small town tower water.

-

Smooth is the forced grace that pulls me out of weighted blankets.

And the chuff of my feet on dusty laminate floor panels.

The sloping foundation of this broken house.

-

Smooth is that saliva on my boyfriend's tongue crashing into my teeth.

And the smoke he pulled from a bougie lounge cigar.

The curl of his fingers into my skin.

-

Smooth is those hours that pass like dreams.

And déjà vu brain waves over lunch.

Time's partner in crime.

-

This poem was written in response to the Smooth challenge issued by Vocal: "Write a poem about something smooth."

heartbreaksad poetry
6

About the Creator

Emma Kate Coleman

An overworked hard news journalist seeking creativity and community. Lover of dogs, antique stores and homemade bread. Thrift queen and photography peasant. Happy to be here. :)

"Write hard and clear about what hurts." - Ernest Hemingway

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    All the life drained out of me as soon as I read this line: Smooth is that pale light slipping through Wal-Mart curtains. God. It really is. Smooth is churning my stomach right now. Great entry to the challenge! 🥰

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    The last one! Wow.

  • Oooo, I love what you did here for this challenge! It was different but in an awesome way!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    All these images, they feel so draggy.

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Wowser. This is most certainly an awesome entry. Missed you around these parts, Emma Kate! Well done on a fine fine piece of poetry, loved the imagery you conjured and the emotions you stirred with this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.