Poets logo

Smooth Criminal

The Chameleon

By ITS YOUR DESTINY Published 7 months ago 1 min read
4
IG: ItsYourDestinyTv

Mesmerized in your eyes, two scoops of slow churning ice-cream. So smooth, your presence warmed me like a down feather blanket. Your words were slick like silk, caressing my mind and body to open up to you. So smooth, I didn't feel the slime slip from your fingers down my spine. Your voice was gentle, eased from your lips like butter melting down the sides of my hotcakes. So smooth, I didn't taste the poison carefully disguised beneath the sweet sticky syrup. Of course, you wouldn't come with A warning label, A smooth criminal like you, Annie would never be okay. This wasn't your first rodeo, each time you grew wiser, more careful. Allowing all the sharp, jagged edges of your cobble stone, to turn over in the tumbler to smooth away your true form. So smooth, I didn't even see the cracks beneath the surface. A touch almost baby soft, a combination of unscented lotion and coconut oil. You captivated me with your tall tells, my heart gently swept away on quiet ocean waves. So smooth, I didn't know I was truly drowning in a sea of your lies.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

ITS YOUR DESTINY

Welcome to my Safe Space, I hope you enjoy the words that flow from my heart and mind.

Thank you for your Love, & Stay Connected on All Other Platforms @ItsYourDestinyTv

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Your imagery and anologies in this are excellent, and of course, the reference to Annie brings the MJ theme home well. Excellent writing.

  • This was so profound and poignant! Loved this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.