Poets logo

Smooth as Silk

The new state that connects to the source

By Katherine D. GrahamPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
1

The warm water of a sacred wellspring wraps around me.

It is smooth as a baby's skin.

Delicately covering me, I become a whole new state of matter.

I enter into a new phase

where atoms and molecules reconfigure with a new total energy,

.

At higher temperatures, water is in the gas state, disorganized but free.

At lower temperature water is an ordered liquid,

cohesive and adhering to itself and adsorbing to surfaces,

As the temperature drops, water forms a distinctly unique solid.

Polarities between the power of passive energy and matter are reduced.

.

I enter into a more complex relationship with water.

Liquid crystals, formed by complex organic molecules,

flow like liquids but still have a solid-like crystalline structure.

.

Kinks form as surface tensions change.

My soul can measure changes in how light travels.

I see with new eyes that have altered refractive indices.

.

I am at the tip of an arrow, speeding through time

I am a space cowboy.

.

My body is powered by each breath.

Oxygen ignites the hydrogen in my metal carbon core.

Non-metal hydrogen carries the memory of hysteresis

held in my iron based blood.

My plastic material self changes.

My soul's breath directs my body,

that is passively pulled as a rocket

along diffusion gradients that power all energy transitions.

.

Hydrogen, the source of all matter, holds mysteries.

I feel Hydrogen transform energy to matter and back again.

I undergo transitions within the universe.

I am part of the smooth flow.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Katherine D. Graham

My stories are intended to teach facts, supported by science as we know it. Science often reflects myths. Both can help survival in an ever-changing world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Now that was absolutely smooth! This was my favourite line, "My soul can measure changes in how light travels." Loved your poem!

  • Salman siddique5 months ago

    loved reading it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.