Poets logo

Smoke and Mirages (AKA...)

'BIKINI STRING THEORY'. ONCE UPON A TIME TITLED THE "SURREAL ELEPHANT". IN KEEPING WITH TODAY'S THEME OF THE WONDER AND THE BEAUTY OF ELEPHANTS. THIS, HOWEVER, IS TONGUE IN CHEEK..ENJOY!

By Victor MendezPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

(BIKINI STRING THEORY)

Odd things happen!

Just t'other day,

I was sittin' and smokin',

When shortly I espied an Elephant walkin' by!

I looked it up and down,

Like you do a gal in a string bikini;

To melodies of the Red Hot Chili Peppers when...

He decide to converse,

Rehearse..if you will,

His reason for bein' !

Of which, I had no problem as I was head deep in my smoke!

Hell I even offered that great gnarly beast a toke..

It was the least..

He cut my thoughts short as he took the blunt,

Started his spiel..

I am called "Ol Voodoo",

Said he in a stentorian thunder of a voice!

Though I'm sure that's not what you think I'd be..

But thas okay, he slurred through the inhale,

I am string theory in the flesh..

A conjuration of The Wizard's imagination,

For your entertainment and the subjugation..

Of your mind!

Witchful thinking, I guess you could call it!

He chuckled..

A deep, throaty thing that seemed to start from his BUTT..

THAT thought alone,

Sent me into piques and spasms of hilarity!

He watched me..

Bemused, Amused, and not a bit confused at what sent me rollin'!

Which reminded me...

So I rolled another as I was beginnin' to fade..

Or was it the elephant?!

Either way,

We sat and talked,

and talked,

and talked some more...

Til somewhere I dozed off.

He musta tired of waiting,

Cuz I awoke, startled when I took a tumble off my seat,

Thinkin' what a great treat,

A dream so surreal..

Til I heard the Elephant's peal..

And I turned to watch him sashay...

On two legs, no less,

Walking away!

Fading into the afternoon roadway mirage.

I think I'll ha' me a beer now!

Later,

When is cooler,

Maybe I'll roll me another Elephant!

Argue about reality... and Bikini String Theory.

Or THE Wizard...

Or?!

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.