Poets logo

Smiles Are Like Memories

A poem

By Rasma RaistersPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
1

First, smile my mama’s,

the most loving one,

from my earliest memories,

never forgotten,

along with lullabies –

smiles are like memories.

*

Dad’s awesome one,

with a little girl,

hand in hand,

friends to the bitter end,

lost the smile along the way,

but always in my heart –

smiles are like memories.

*

Friends near and far,

from days gone by,

waving and laughing,

upon the screen,

pictures clicking by,

always in my mind –

smiles are like memories.

*

Days whizz by,

calendar pages fly,

your smile came into my life,

I knew I would be with you,

for a long, long while,

so even though the angels,

took you away one day,

beyond the clouds, I know,

your sparkling eyes still gaze upon me –

smiles are like memories.

*

Smiles are memories,

to be shared day after day,

time goes by much too quickly,

some smiles get lost along the way,

but day in and day out,

through it all,

the heart can still rejoice –

smiles are like memories.

*

For all the smiles,

through all life’s miles,

the ones still near,

the ones left behind,

the ones lost along the way,

so many things left to say,

time flies,

still wish you were mine,

still near me, I know,

for the rest of my life,

I can go along smiling brightly –

for smiles are like memories.

art
1

About the Creator

Rasma Raisters

My passions are writing and creating poetry. I write for several sites online and have four themed blogs on Wordpress. Please follow me on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    I love smiling too! Great work♥️💙💚💖❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.