Poets logo

Small Victories

Oh god, the books are scattered and not where they should be - breathe... at least I got dressed today, that's a small victory.

By Rosie J. SargentPublished about a year ago 2 min read
7
Pixabay (Pexels): http://pixabay.com

The house is a mess god where do I begin? I let it happen again, I let it creep and slip in. There are no plates in the cupboards, there are spread across the sides, and the kitchen is the new landlord to the fruit flies. The cutlery has vanished and all the cups are gone, and the bins are full, but hey at least I managed to put a wash on.

Gosh, the living room is in a complete state, with toys shoved in every space. Food half-eaten, thrown and left, the floor covered in god knows what and is slightly wet. Oh god, the books are scattered and not where they should be - breathe... at least I got dressed today, that's a small victory.

The chair of clothes has been left for weeks, piled on top of each other in an impossible heap. A layer of dust covers the shelves, cobwebs in the corners of windows, and family photos as well. I’m sorry I left you on read the other day, I struggle with that sometimes. Hey at least I got out of bed though, that’s a small victory of mine.

The towels in the bathroom are still both wet and dry, with splatters of toothpaste on the mirror, and dots of white. The toilet is not too bad but could do with a clean, at least I had a bath this morning, that's a small victory.

I don't dare look in the garden it is a forbidden jungle, although I am grateful for one I cannot grumble. I imagine it is home to goblins, trolls and demons, something about it tells me not to go near it. I avoid it at all costs it is a mystery, at least we went for a walk, that's a small victory.

One room at a time, take each step slow and take the day that comes with a new flow.

Forget about the yesterdays for that is now history, you survived it all - that's a small victory.

Stay safe, stay hopeful and stay blessed :)

performance poetryslam poetryinspirational
7

About the Creator

Rosie J. Sargent

Hello, my lovelies! Welcome, I write everything from the very strange to the wonderful; daring and most certainly different. I am an avid coffee drinker and truth advocate.

Follow me on Twitter/X @rosiejsargent97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Thank you for writing this. It is both creative and informative. In being the 24/7 caregiver of my very sick 86 year old mom I can relate very well to everything you wrote. It is so important for us to recognize those little victories.

  • My mental health hit an all time low in May 2021 to the extent I had to quit my job and started seeing a therapist. I'm slowly getting better and yes, I always remember to give myself a pat on my back when I manage to do the smallest of things. I also came across a quote that went 'Anything worth doing is worth doing poorly'. Meaning that it's okay if we don't give a 100% when we do it. Sometimes we just gotta learn to be gentle and kind to ourselves. Thank you for sharing this!

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Extraordinary work! Thx 4 sharing! It is so wonderfully written & inspirational! Brighter days await us. Until then, we do what we can. I'm excited 2 read more of your work! it is honest, special & lively! Happy New Year!😊

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.