Poets logo

Small Cozy Suite

If only these walls could talk.

By JayPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1

From the beautiful horizon

To the crowded city streets

My heart stays in a place

With a small cozy suite

Take a walk with me inside

And I’ll tell you a tale

Of life within these walls

With a family whose love

Prevails above all

If these walls could talk

They would tell us stories of laughter, and tears we've shared

If these walls could talk

They would say they understand why we bicker

If these walls could talk

They would go on for hours on how much we sincerely pester one another

If these walls could talk

It would embellish themselves and sing of our achievements

If these walls could talk

They would say, thank you for always coming back and taking care of me

If these walls could talk

They would say if my walls crumble and fall, you guys will still have each other

If these walls could talk

They would ask, does this home make you shiver with memories of the past?

If these walls could talk

They would say I've learned to care from word of ear so can I help you with that task?

If these walls could talk

It would say atlas, I can't forget our mischievous security cat

If these walls could talk

It would smile because it knows here is where we find the most comfort

If these walls could talk

They would commend our never-ending endeavors to make it through the day

If these walls could talk

They would chastise us to never give up on each other

If these walls could talk

They would say our home wouldn’t be a home without each other

If these walls could talk

They would join us during game night and make dinner with us during late nights

If these walls could talk

They would say, take a piece of me to remember me by

If these walls could talk

They would say, I’ll miss you, you know, for all your years to come

If these walls could talk

They would say don’t be sad when you strip me bare for I will always be here

If these walls could talk

It would recall a sweet saying, home is where the heart is

If these walls could talk

They would say adieu because when we leave

We’ll be taking our love with us.

From the beautiful horizon

To the crowded city streets

My heart stays in a place

With a small cozy suite

Take a walk with me outside

And I’ll tell you the tales

Of life within those walls

With a family whose love

Prevails above all

If only those walls could talk

If only.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Jay

Aspiring to be a healthcare professional to support underserved communities and give to those who don't have a voice! I also have a love for reading, writing, and so many more awesome things. While you’re here, check out my stories! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.