Poets logo

Slumberland

A Conversation Between a Child and Sleep

By David E. PerryPublished 11 days ago 1 min read
Slumberland
Photo by Igordoon Primus on Unsplash

“Close Your Eyes Dear Little One

And Enter Slumberland

I Will Show You Many Things

Great Wonders That Are Grand

When You Come, You’ll Be Amazed

Your Friends Will Be There Too

All You’ll Need to Do Is Wish

And Watch as It Comes True”

“I Can’t Close My Eyes and Sleep

I Just Had Too Much Fun

Jumped And Screamed in Bouncy House

I Played Out in The Sun

Cake, Ice Cream, Candy All Day

Where Juice and Pop Abound

Now You Want Me to Relax

To Sit Back and Calm Down”

“See, Now, My Dear Little One

Your Fun Will Never End

When You Are in Slumberland

The World Is at Your Hand

Come, Please, My Dear Little One

Come, Now, And Follow Me

I’ll Guide You Very Gently

To The Great Dreams You’ll See”

“I Will Not (Yawn) Close My Eyes

I Do Not Want to Dream

I’ll Never (Blink, Blink) To Sleep

(Blink, Yawn) Are Being Mean

Slumberland Don’t Sound Too Bad

I Guess That I Can Bite

I’ll Close My Eyes, Drift Asleep

So, Now I Say Goodnight”

childrens poetry

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    David E. PerryWritten by David E. Perry

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.