Poets logo

Slice

Droplets of Yesterday's Dance

By Vanessa JasekPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

For I rejoice

over small beads

of warm red blood

on the white underbelly

of my arm.

Yet, I also recoil

at the meaning

the blood brings along

to the party

to which it was apprehensively invited.

The beads turn into a light

stream of warmth

like a blanket that

well-meaning mothers spread

to cover all wounds.

Back and forth

emotions are juggled

like the flames

the bearded man tosses

at the circus,

only hotter somehow.

I’m giddy at the thought

of mother seeing

the wound I created

not for her,

but for what she isn’t.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Vanessa Jasek

I write words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.