Poets logo

Slew of Haikus

I should be sorry for this...I'm not

By Michaela CalabresePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Slew of Haikus
Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

Why do I write dark?

I hurt my own characters;

Like some messed-up god.

Try to mix it up,

Write a joke or let them laugh

But that never lasts

What if that gets stale?

Never giving them a break?

Am I messing up?

Think about real life.

Sure, it hurts, but not always.

Just…most of the time.

I blame Depression.

Had that since I was a kid.

Should be on some meds.

Didn’t think this through

Six hundred words is so hard

To fill with just haikus.

This is what I do

Make everything difficult

Give myself headaches.

If I pull this off

How cool would that poem be?

What was this about?

Oh right, messed-up god.

Hurting characters I made

Just to build a plot

Five hundred words left

Wow I want to bail right now!

Might as well press on.

Is this even good?

Some poor moderator will

Have to read this through.

Can you imagine?

Counting every syllable

For six hundred words?

This topic got lost.

Now it’s just an ego trip

Hell, I got this far.

Punctuation’s hard

That got ditched ten lines ago.

Sorry, grammar nerds

Hundred ninety-five

Words I’ve written since the start

Now it’s two-oh-nine

I have two degrees.

Went to school to study film.

Proud of me yet, Mom?

If this doesn’t get

Posted and I have to fix

It I think I’ll cry

Fourth-grade teacher was

Evil but at least she taught

Us what haikus were.

She would have a fit

If she saw me writing this

Not my biggest fan

While we’re here have I

Ever told you I wasn’t

Very good in school?

Wait, I told you that

Already so you should read

Those articles next

Wow this is so long

This wasn’t a good idea!

Are you all still there?

Halfway to my goal.

I haven’t had any food.

Starbucks, here I come!

Starbucks is the treat

I will get when I am done

With this dumb poem

Going off the rails

Think I’ll make that the title

When I put this up

Stream of consciousness

Hey, they can’t all be the best

Stream of consciousness

No way will this get

Accepted to this website

This is such a mess.

Here’s three eighty-four

And here is three ninety next

Here’s three ninety-four!

Are you having fun?

Did you really read this far?

We both know you scrolled.

Running out of words.

This is a desert of words.

Words, words, words, words, words.

Believe it or not

I’m a talented writer

I have written scripts

You might think I’m mad

No I’m not, I’m just bizarre

Otherwise I’m fine

Actually, no.

I’m not fine, but that is a

Really long story

If you want to know

What led me to this pursuit

Read my other works

Almost at the end

Carpal tunnel waits for me

Or some callouses

I am Twenty-four

Old enough to drink and drive

Not at the same time!

Five hundred seven

Words a hundred more to go!

I’m having a blast

Quotas are for those

With the drive to fill them and

Discipline and stuff

I can tell that I

Am the only one who finds

This really funny

Poetry is weird

Have you ever thought of that?

Paintings made of words

Stepped out for a sec

Now I’m back so let’s move on

We are almost done

Crossed the halfway mark

Two hundred words ago now

You remember that?

Good luck everyone!

If you’ve read this far then boy,

Let me shake your hand!

Oh….we’re at six hundred and twelve.

Well that’s anti-climactic.

surreal poetry
4

About the Creator

Michaela Calabrese

Hello! My name is Michaela Calabrese. I've had a passion for writing since I was little; from research-heavy articles with citations galore to lighter introspections about abstract concepts (and some nerdier posts about my favorite fandoms)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.