Poets logo

Sleeves

A Song? By Dylan "Talonted" Garcia

By TalontedPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Like
Sleeves
Photo by Ian Keefe on Unsplash

I wear my heart on my sleeves

But to all them it’s a disease

Erase it before it lingers

Cut it out like it’s a cancer

I wear my heart on my sleeves

It’s the first thing everyone sees

Nervousness, sadness or anger

They all think I’m a danger

Can I tell you the truth

I am just like you

A mess on the inside

Nothing that I can hide

No

Please see

I’m just trying to be

I want to feel

I want to heal

From the pain I have gone through

All the holes I have fallen into

This life is unforgiving

But I am still here living

Even though

I wear my heart on my sleeves

But to all them it’s a disease

Erase it before it lingers

Cut it out like it’s a cancer

I wear my heart on my sleeves

It’s the first thing everyone sees

Nervousness, sadness or anger

They all think I’m a danger

Don’t let me fade

I am not okay

But I bet neither are you

Don’t be afraid to

Let

Your sleeves

Show

Don’t be afraid to

Let

Someone you love

Know

You wear your heart on your sleeves

But to all them it’s a disease

They try to

Erase it before it lingers

Cut it out like it’s a cancer

You wear heart on your sleeves

It’s the first thing everyone sees

Nervousness, sadness or anger

They all think you’re a danger

But you’re not

You’re not, you’re not, you’re not

You are beautiful

You are meaningful

Just wear your heart on your sleeves

And let them think you’re a disease

You’ll find someone who is the same

Someone who will wear your name

On their sleeves

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Talonted

I am a Business Leadership Associate's graduate with a passion for creating. I do mostly poetry of which I hope to speak to other people's souls, share my emotions, maybe connect, and maybe even help a few people in the process

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.