Poets logo

Sleepwalker

A Poem After My Father's Death

By Ava M.Published 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was me who broke your neck in 15 places.

YES, it was me. And now I have mars bars under my nails.

Digging. I keep on digging.

If I could just bring you. UP. We, might have a shot.

It's really fucking cold. And there's mud in my shoes. But we never said goodbye.

The dirt. The particles are rotting my teeth - that I'm baring at your name on the stone.

I'm a little closer now - wiping away dust to see a hinge.

My hands tremble behind me. Resurrecting to my knees, distorting my back, I recharge and bring down the wrath of an axe.

Maniacally, I destroy your coffin. Your pine box. Your space shuttle.

And in the settled dust and fingernails. Below the shards of splintered wood and burly bones is you.

Your ears big as the day light.

I kneel. And wrap my hands around your disheveled flesh. I bring you up to my neck, arms, lips.

Slipping my mouth past you I whisper "father?"

It's so hard to recognize you now.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.